Introduction

Since 1992, there have been many attempts at salvaging the Empress Theatre / Cinema V – some  more successful than others. A few of these efforts have managed to restore parts of the building, however, a colossal task remains today. The Friends of the Empress are a group of concerned citizens (not affiliated with Cinema NDG or the Empress Cultural Centre) who believe that the current state of inaction of the file will make it all the more challenging to restore or even salvage the building before it’s too late.

The Friends of the Empress believe that Montreal belongs to Montrealers and that the quality of life of its neighbourhoods depends on the mobilizing force of its residents. Ongoing inaction will only ensure that developers from the exterior looking in will impose their vision and their values on our Empress heritage. Instead, by exchanging and talking amongst ourselves, we can find a community consensus around the best ideas that will offer a cultural public space, open to all.

To put it simply, we’ve run out of time. Pictures taken only a few years ago and now of the Empress Theatre show the severe deterioration of the building. As well, from the outside, the façade of the building itself shows signs of erosion and many of the sculptural details are fading. Following the microburst on August 22nd, 2017, the Western most top window of the front of the building exploded and landed squarely onto the sidewalk. Neither the shattered window nor the hole in the building have been fixed.

The Friends of the Empress are mobilizing in order to raise support for:

  • A public consultation process to engage all residents;
  • A survey on the future of the Empress;
  • A PORCH EMPRESS TRANSITION PROJECT in collaboration with La Pépinière which will provide residents a look inside the building in a safe environment and reenergize any future Empress project.

 

Public Consultation

The NDG community needs a project which will be transparent and will involve residents in its elaboration without being paralyzed in bureaucratic red tape. The Friends of the Empress are looking to raise funds in order to conduct a series of public consultations starting in early 2018.

Survey

In order to get an immediate sense for where residents stand on the issue of the Empress and its future, we ask that you fill out our in depth survey here.

Join the Friends of the Empress

Join The Friends of the Empress and be part of a citizen movement that will change the face of NDG and ensure that this project sees the light of day.

News

The Empress Theatre Returns to the Main Stage

Montreal, October 4th, 2017

Since 1992 at least four attempts have been made to save the Empress Theatre from a slow and constant decay. The theatre, inaugurated in 1927, has seen its fair share of history, tragedy and it once shaped the cultural lives of NDG. With no road map for its revival and no clear indications from the Côtes-des-Neiges–Notre-Dame-de-Grâce borough, The Friends of the Empress, a group of concerned citizens, pose the critical question: is it time to truly engage or disengage from creating an innovative cultural project? 

Since the microburst of August 22nd blew out a window onto the sidewalk, there has been a gaping hole on the front façade of the building. Rain water and, soon, snow will continue the relentless destruction of this architectural gem, a building whose Egyptian-style art deco is one of the only remnants of its kinds in North America. 

The Friends of the Empress are here today not because we have answers but rather because we are seeking answers and those answers should come from the community. We are asking the population what should happen to this building and are the residents of NDG genuinely committed to supporting a new project.

As a group of concerned citizens, we are encouraging others to join us. We are offering the community three things: an online survey in which we wish to understand if residents and Montrealers genuinely wish to see an Empress revival, a series of public consultations set to be launched in 2018, and a transitionary Empress Porch project that would be piloted by ephemeral placemaking experts La Pépinière. 

Perhaps a porch is what this community needs as it likes to discuss things with its neighbours in a physical space and to evaluate the good and the bad before going ahead with a decision. Some of our best times we have had in this neighbourhood are gathering on porches. The Empress Porch project will offer a chance for residents to get a glimpse inside the building in a safe and secure way. 

For The Friends of the Empress, it does not matter that the last movie shown here was 25 years ago and it does not matter whether this building becomes a beacon for arts and culture, a modern entrepreneurial hub or an organic microbrewery, what matters is that we get it right, not for us, but for future generations. 

Please visit empress.planeteb.org for more details. 

The Friends of the Empress are mobilizing in order to raise support for:


– A survey on the future of the Empress;
– A public consultation process to engage all residents;
– A PORCH EMPRESS TRANSITION PROJECT in collaboration with La Pépinière which will provide residents a look inside the building in a safe environment and reenergize any future Empress project.

Find out more online through our website: empress.planeteb.org or contact Luca Palladino at 514-815-9256, luca@planeteb.org

Introduction

Depuis 1992, plusieurs tentatives pour sauver le Théâtre Empress/Cinéma V ont vu le jour. D’ailleurs, certaines de ces initiatives ont sauvé l’édifice de la catastrophe en effectuant des réparations d’urgence. Les ami(e)s de l’Empress est un regroupement citoyen qui croit que l’actuelle condition d’immobilisme dans le dossier mènera l’édifice à sa perte totale.

Les ami(e)s de l’Empress croit que Montréal appartient aux Montréalais et que la qualité de vie des quartiers dépend de la force mobilisatrice de ses résidents. En nous croisant les bras, nous nous assurons que des développeurs venus d’ailleurs configureront l’édifice de l’Empress selon leur vision et leurs propres valeurs. En se parlant et en se consultant, nous pouvons trouver un consensus communautaire qui nous aidera à trouver les bonnes idées afin de développer ce nouveau lieu public, ouvert à tous.

Le temps que nous avons pour ce projet est presque écoulé. Des photos prises il y a quelques années comparées à celles d’aujourd’hui démontrent la détérioration accélérée de l’édifice à l’intérieur. À l’extérieur, l’érosion est en train d’effacer les éléments caractéristiques de la façade. Suite à la microrafale du 22 août, 2017, la fenêtre la plus à l’ouest de l’étage supérieur a éclaté et s’est fracassé sur le trottoir. Ni la fenêtre ni le trou béant dans l’édifice n’ont été réparés.

Nous méritons un projet qui est transparent et qui cherchera la participation active de ses résidents sans que le processus devienne paralysé. Afin de conserver l’édifice ou sa façade, nous avons besoin d’un échéancier clair et une campagne transparente qui communique chaque étape aux résidents et suscite un engouement chez eux.

Les ami(e)s de l’Empress se mobilisent afin de trouver un soutien pour :

  • Un processus de consultation publique inclusif de tous les résidents.
  • Un sondage sur l’avenir de l’Empress.
  • Le PORCH EMPRESS, une proposition de mise en valeur transitoire du Théâtre Empress mené par La Pépinière en collaboration avec les organismes locaux. Ce projet permettrait aux résidents de visiter l’édifice en toute sécurité et relancerait le projet de façon dynamique.

Consultation publique

La communauté de NDG a besoin que le projet entourant l’Empress soit transparent et implique les résidents directement dans son élaboration sans que le processus soit paralysé dans des pirouettes bureaucratiques. Les ami(e)s de l’Empress cherchent activement des manières de financer une série de consultations publiques qui démarreraient tôt en 2018.

Sondage

Afin d’obtenir une rétroaction immédiate des résidents sur l’Empress et son avenir, nous vous demandons de remplir ce sondage

Joignez-vous aux ami.e.s de l’Empress

Joignez-vous au collectif Les ami.e.s de l’Empress, un mouvement citoyen qui changera le visage de NDG et qui s’assurera que ce projet se réalisera.

Actualités

Le Théâtre Empress fait un retour sur la grande scène

Montréal, le mercredi 4 octobre 2017

Depuis 1992, au moins quatre tentatives de récupération de l’édifice ont vu le jour pour sauver l’Empress d’une détérioration constante. Le théâtre, inauguré en 1927, a marqué l’histoire de la communauté et a déjà rythmé la vie culturelle du quartier. Sans feuille de route et sans aucune indication claire de la part de l’arrondissement Côtes-des-Neiges–Notre-Dame-de-Grâce, Les ami.e.s de l’Empress, un mouvement citoyen, pose la question : le moment est-il venu d’appuyer véritablement un projet innovant culturellement ou est-il plutôt le temps de se défaire de notre héritage une fois pour tout ?

Depuis que la microrafale du 22 août ait fracassé une vitre qui s’est écrasée sur le trottoir, un trou dans la façade de l’édifice permet à l’eau et, bientôt, la neige de s’infiltrer et de continuer d’endommager ce qui reste de ce fleuron architectural aux motifs égyptiens; un des seuls cinémas dans son genre en Amérique du Nord d’ailleurs.

Les ami.e.s de L’Empress se présentent aujourd’hui avec beaucoup plus de questions que de réponses, nous sommes, en fait, à la recherche de réponses de la communauté. Nous voulons que les citoyens nous orientent sur l’avenir de l’édifice et savoir si les résidents appuierons concrètement un nouveau projet.

En tant que mouvement citoyen, nous invitons tout le monde à se joindre à nous. Nous offrons à la communauté trois choses : un sondage en ligne pour voir s’il y a un appétit pour transformer l’édifice Empress, une série de consultations publiques pour 2018, et le projet de transition Empress Porch (balcon) qui serait piloté par les experts en espaces collectifs à Montréal, La Pépinière.

Peut-être que la création d’un balcon permettra d’ouvrir un dialogue plus authentique autour du projet car c’est souvent sur des balcons que nous discutons dans notre communauté. Le projet Empress Porch verrait la création d’un balcon/terrasse temporaire qui offrirait la chance aux résidents de reprendre temporairement les lieux et voir à l’intérieur de l’édifice Empress en toute sécurité.

Pour Les ami.e.s de l’Empress, il importe peu si le dernier film ici a été projeté il y a 25 ans, et il importe peu si l’édifice devient un fleuron des arts et de la culture de Montréal ou un carrefour pour les entrepreneurs ou encore une microbrasserie biologique, ce qui nous importe c’est que nous choisissions la bonne voie, non pas pour nous, mais pour les générations à venir.

Pour plus de détails sur le projet, visitez empress.planeteb.org

 

Les ami.e.s de l’Empress se mobilisent pour :


Un sondage sur l’avenir de l’Empress;

Une série de consultations publiques pour engager les résidents;

Un projet transitoire Porch Empress en collaboration avec La Pépinière qui offrira aux résidents un nouveau regard à l’intérieur de l’édifice de manière sécuritaire.

Pour plus d’information, visitez notre site web : empress.planeteb.org ou contactez Luca Palladino au 514-815-9256, luca@planeteb.org